Rio Summer Olympics 2016

by Seyran Dalipovski

The 2016 Rio Olympics in Rio De Janeiro are starting today and we are very excited.

The Olympic games go as far back as 1859, but it wasn’t fully realized until Pierre de Coubertin founded the International Olympic Committee (IOC). In 1904 it was a historic moment for the games in Paris because it was the first time Women could compete in the games. Shortly after it was decided the that why should have a winter and summer Olympics due to the warm weather not working for ice skating and hockey.

Now it is 2016, and it is the first time a South American city will be hosting the Summer Olympics. What originally started as 14 nations and 241 participants in 1896, has grown immensely to a record-breaking 206 nations and 11,000 competitors.

Photos-and-Videos-mosaic-05

Now this doesn’t come without its issues as well. The stories coming out Rio have not been the best in support for the Olympics. We will only refer you to a few links because we would rather focus on some of the uplifting stories coming out of Rio.

For starters, Mardini’s story of triumph is exactly what the Olympic Games are about. This young woman at just the age of 17 was swimming for her life and the lives of others.
She took charge when a dinghy, overcrowded with 20 migrants, started sinking. She dove in the bitter cold Aegean Sea and swam pushing the dinghy to safety. Now she will be representing the Refugee Olympic Team in Rio.

We love that Sir Bradley Wiggins decided not to be the Great Britain flag bearer, he told British Cycling in July that the honor should go to a female rider. He was picked because with seven medals, including four golds, he is Britains most decorated Olympian, but his power as this Olympian shows in his choice not to wave the flag.

This reminds us of one of the most famous triumphant stories of Jesse Owens winning 4 gold medals during the Nazi Olympic games of 1914. Proving to then host Germany that people – other than those he glorified for his personal gain – were here to stay.

03

Here is a brief highlight of the times and dates to watch Simpliday’s home country of Sweden in the Rio Olympics. You can find more information here on schedules and sports.

Women’s Football:

August 3rd – Sweden VS South Africa – 12pm EST – 6pm GMT
August 7th – Sweden Vs Brazil – 9am EST – 3pm GMT
August 10th – Sweden Vs China – 9am EST – 3pm GMT

Men’s Football:

August 5th – Sweden Vs Columbia – 6pm EST – 12am GMT
August 8th – Sweden Vs Nigeria – 6pm EST – 12am GMT
August 11th – Sweden Vs Japan – 6pm EST – 12am GMT

Women’s Handball:

August 7th – Sweden Vs Argentina – 2:50pm GMT – 8:50am EST
August 8th – Sweden Vs South Korea – 8:30am EST – 2:30am
August 10th – Sweden Vs Russia – 1:40pm – 7:40pm
August 12th – Sweden Vs Netherlands – 10:30am EST – 4:30pm GMT

Men’s Handball:

August 7th – Sweden Vs Germany – 6pm EST – 12am GMT
August 10th – Sweden Vs Egypt – 6:50pm EST – 12:50am GMT
August 12th – Sweden Vs Slovenia – 6:50pm – 12:50am